ZenVCC
AI tools

Does Claude Accept Debit Cards? Claude Payment Methods by Plan (2026)

Which cards Anthropic accepts for each Claude plan, in one table built from its own help center: debit, credit and prepaid cards, PayPal, ACH, the app stores, saved cards, currency and tax, checked November 2026.

By ZenVCC team · · 8 min read

In short

Yes. Anthropic accepts debit cards for Claude Pro, Max and Ultra bought on the web, Claude Team accepts credit, debit or prepaid cards, and self-serve Enterprise plans and Claude API credits take credit and debit cards too. In the Claude app for iOS or Android, Apple or Google sets the payment options. Anthropic does not accept PayPal or Venmo (Anthropic's help center, checked November 2026).

Yes, Anthropic accepts debit cards for Claude Pro, Max and Ultra bought on the web, and for the Claude Team plan, which also takes prepaid cards. Self-serve Enterprise plans and Claude API credits take credit and debit cards too. If you subscribe in the Claude app for iOS or Android, Apple or Google handles the payment, so the App Store or Google Play sets the payment options.

This guide puts Anthropic's payment rules for each plan in one table, then covers prepaid cards, PayPal, crypto, saved cards, currency and tax. Everything about Claude below comes from Anthropic's help center and the Claude pricing page, checked November 2026. Anthropic can change its payment rules, so check the billing page in your own account before you pay.

Does Claude accept debit cards?

Anthropic accepts debit cards on every Claude plan it bills itself. For Claude Pro, Max and Ultra bought on the web, Anthropic's paid plan billing FAQs say Anthropic only accepts credit or debit cards (checked November 2026). For Claude Team, the Team plan billing FAQs list credit, debit or prepaid cards. Anthropic's article on declined cards, dated July 10, 2026, puts it more widely: Anthropic accepts credit cards and debit cards "for all purchases" (checked November 2026).

The app is different. For Claude Pro, Max or Ultra bought in Claude for iOS or Claude for Android, the billing FAQs say the Apple App Store or Google Play handles the payment and determines the payment options.

To change the card on a web subscription later, Anthropic's billing FAQs say to open Settings, then Billing, and click Update next to the default payment method. The new card becomes the default for future renewals.

Claude payment methods by plan

The table below sets out what Anthropic's pages say each Claude plan accepts, checked November 2026. Each cell comes from the pages in the last column, and "Not stated" means those pages say nothing either way.

Claude payment methods by plan, from Anthropic's pages (checked November 2026)
PlanCredit cardDebit cardPrepaid cardPayPalACH bank transferWho bills youSource
Pro, Max and Ultra on the webYesYesNot statedNoNoAnthropicPaid plan billing FAQs; Why was my card declined?; Claude pricing page
Pro, Max and Ultra in the iOS or Android appSet by the Apple App Store or Google PlayApple or GooglePaid plan billing FAQs; Pro, Max and Ultra invoices article
TeamYesYesYesNoNoAnthropicTeam plan billing FAQs
Self-serve EnterpriseYesYesNot statedNoYesAnthropicWhy was my card declined?; Claude pricing page; Enterprise plan article
Claude API (Console credits)YesYesNot statedNoYes, on monthly invoicingAnthropicWhy was my card declined?; How do I pay for my Claude API usage?

Some plans also include API credits each month. Claude's pricing page lists monthly API credits of $100 for Max, $200 for Ultra and up to $500 a month, pooled, for Team, and none for Pro (checked November 2026). Anthropic's billing FAQs say these credits appear in a linked Claude Console organization and that their usage is never charged to your Claude plan.

Credits you buy yourself work differently. Anthropic's article on paying for Claude API usage says the Claude API is billed through prepaid usage credits, bought on the Console's billing page before you use them. Those credits expire one year after purchase and can't be refunded (checked November 2026).

Does Claude accept prepaid cards?

Claude Team accepts prepaid cards; for Claude Pro, Max and Ultra on the web, Anthropic names credit or debit cards and does not mention prepaid cards. Of the Anthropic billing pages checked for this guide, the Team plan billing FAQs are the only page that lists prepaid cards (checked November 2026). For the individual plans, Anthropic neither lists prepaid cards nor says they are refused, which is why the table says "Not stated".

The word "prepaid" in Anthropic's API billing article means something else: prepaid usage credits are credit you buy before you call the Claude API, a way of paying for usage rather than a kind of card.

A payment processor can tell what kind of card you entered. Stripe, which hosts Anthropic's Team invoices and sends its monthly API invoices, describes each card in Stripe's API reference with a funding type: credit, debit, prepaid or unknown (checked November 2026). "Virtual" is not one of those types, so a virtual card still carries one of the four, the same as a plastic card.

That is why the card type matters for ZenVCC's Claude AI Reloadable Card. It is a bank-issued Visa debit card, not a prepaid card, and it is made for Claude subscriptions (Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise) and Claude API credits. Debit is a card type that Anthropic's help center names for Claude Pro and Max on the web and for Claude Team. Anthropic decides which cards it accepts.

Does Claude accept PayPal, Apple Pay, Google Pay or crypto?

Claude doesn't accept PayPal or Venmo. Anthropic's article on declined cards says Anthropic does not accept third-party payment processors such as PayPal or Venmo, and that a payment with an unsupported method will likely be declined (checked November 2026).

Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated for the web. None of the Anthropic billing pages checked for this guide mentions either wallet for a web subscription, so this guide doesn't say they work there. In the iOS and Android apps, the payment options are Apple's or Google's own.

Crypto is not a payment method at Anthropic. The paid plan billing FAQs say web subscriptions are paid only with credit or debit cards, and the Team plan billing FAQs say other forms of payment are not accepted. With ZenVCC, crypto pays for the card, and the card is what you enter at checkout. The guide to paying for Claude with crypto sets out that route step by step.

Gift subscriptions are not an option for now either. Anthropic's article on gifting a Claude subscription says gift subscriptions are currently unavailable to purchase, for all accounts, and that Anthropic has no date yet for their return (checked November 2026).

Credit card or debit card: does it change anything?

Not in Anthropic's rules. Anthropic accepts debit and credit cards on the same Claude plans, and the steps in its article on declined cards apply to any card (checked November 2026):

  • Supported billing location: the card's billing address and the country the card comes from must be on Anthropic's list of supported billing locations, and the billing address must match that country.
  • Billing address: it must match the address your bank holds for the card. The article says even a missing accent mark or a misspelled street name can cause a decline.
  • 3-D Secure: if the payment asks for it, you need to complete it, for example with a one-time password sent to your phone or a confirmation in your bank's app.
  • Funds: the card must cover the total amount of the purchase.

A ZenVCC card can't be topped up from the dashboard, so the money has to be on the card when Anthropic charges it, tax included.

If you pay with a ZenVCC card, type the cardholder name and billing address exactly as they appear in My cards. My cards shows each card's number, expiry date, CVV and billing details, not one-time codes, so if a payment asks for a 3-D Secure code you cannot complete, use a different card. The guide to a declined Claude card takes each of Anthropic's checks in turn.

Can Claude charge a saved card if your default card is declined?

Yes, depending on your account. Anthropic's paid plan billing FAQs say an old card is kept when you add a new one, and it usually stays listed under Settings, then Billing, until you remove it. A saved card may then be charged if your default card is declined, so Anthropic's advice is to remove any card you don't want used (checked November 2026).

To remove a card, the FAQs say to open the three-dot menu (More actions) next to it and choose Remove. You can't remove the default card until another card is the default, and you can't remove a card that your subscription or an unpaid invoice is still using. Cards you used in the past may also stay with Anthropic's payment processor without showing in the list; Anthropic's support team removes those on request.

If you want one card to pay for Claude, make it the default and remove the others.

Is tax added to Claude's prices, and can you change the currency?

Claude's pricing page says the prices shown don't include applicable tax, and the tax depends on your billing address. Anthropic's article on Pro, Max and Ultra invoices says tax is calculated from your billing address, which is taken from your payment method's address, and the Team plan billing FAQs say the billing address determines the tax jurisdiction (checked November 2026).

The same invoices article covers currency. It says some existing subscribers pay in a currency other than the one offered to new subscribers in their region. To change currency, you set the plan to cancel at the end of the current term, wait for the term to end, and then buy a new plan, which uses the currency new subscribers in your region would get.

How many Claude charges does the $190 on the card cover?

The Claude AI Reloadable Card costs $200 in total ($190 plus the $10 issue fee) and comes loaded with $190 to spend. Here is what that covers before tax.

What $190 covers at Claude's prices, before tax (checked November 2026)
Claude planPrice before taxWhat $190 covers
Pro, billed monthly$20 a month9 monthly charges
Max$100 a month1 monthly charge
Ultra$200 a monthNot a single month
Pro, billed yearly$200 up frontNot the yearly charge
Enterprise$20 per seat a month, billed yearly, at least 20 seats, plus usageNot the yearly charge

Tax is added from the billing address, so the real number of charges can be lower. ZenVCC also charges $0.10 for each card transaction, as ZenVCC's pricing page shows. Cards can't be topped up from the dashboard, so pick a card that covers the charges you expect.

For Claude Team, which takes credit, debit or prepaid cards, ZenVCC's Claude page also lists two general-purpose USA cards, Visa Virtual Universal (BIN 442256) and Mastercard Reloadable Classic (BIN 527520), at $110 in total each; neither is made for Claude. Each merchant decides which cards it accepts, so no card provider can guarantee acceptance.

Next step

Get a card for Claude. The guide to paying for Claude without a credit card sets out the other ways to pay, and the virtual card for Claude page lists the cards that fit, with each total shown before you buy.

Questions

  • Yes. Anthropic's billing FAQs say Claude Pro, Max and Ultra bought on the web take credit or debit cards, and Claude Team takes credit, debit or prepaid cards (checked November 2026). For a subscription bought in the iOS or Android app, Apple or Google sets the payment options.

  • Anthropic's Team plan billing FAQs list prepaid cards for Claude Team. For Claude Pro, Max and Ultra on the web, Anthropic names credit or debit cards and does not mention prepaid cards (checked November 2026).

  • Anthropic accepts credit and debit cards for all purchases, and Claude Team also takes prepaid cards. Anthropic's article on declined cards adds ACH bank transfers for self-serve Enterprise plans and API accounts on monthly invoicing, and PayPal and Venmo are not accepted (checked November 2026).

  • No. Anthropic's article on declined cards says Anthropic does not accept third-party payment processors such as PayPal or Venmo (checked November 2026).

  • Anthropic doesn't say so for the web. None of the Anthropic billing pages checked for this guide mentions Apple Pay or Google Pay for a web subscription, so this guide doesn't say they work there. In the Claude app for iOS or Android, Apple or Google sets the payment options (checked November 2026).

Cards for this

See every card

Buy a virtual card with crypto

Top up your balance with Bitcoin, USDT, TRX or SOL and buy the card that fits. Every total is shown before you pay.